Sunday, August 7, 2016

MS Word (Table and Chart)

A table is a grid of cells arranged in rows and columns. Tables can be customized and are useful for various tasks such as presenting text information and numerical data.

Steps in Creating/ Inserting Tables
In MS Word, tables are useful for organizing and presenting data. You can create a blank table, convert text to a table, and apply a variety of styles and formats to existing tables.

To insert a blank table:
  1. Place your insertion point in the document where you want the table to appear.
  2. Select the Insert tab.
  3. Click the Table command.
  4. Hover your mouse over the diagram squares to select the number of columns and rows in the table.
  5. Click your mouse, and the table appears in the document.
  6. You can now place the insertion point anywhere in the table to add text.
To convert existing text to a table:
  1. Select the text you want to convert.
  2. Select the Insert tab.
  3. Click the Table command.
  4. Select Convert Text to Table from the menu. A dialog box will appear.
  5. Choose one of the options in the Separate text at: section. This is how Word knows what text to put in each column.
  6. Click OK. The text appears in a table. 
To add a row above an existing row:
  1. Place the insertion point in a row below the location where you want to add a row.
  2. Right-click the mouse. A menu appears.
  3. Select Insert Insert Rows Above.
  4. A new row appears above the insertion point.

   You can also add rows below the insertion point. Follow the same steps, but select Insert Rows Below from the menu.

To add a column:
  1. Place the insertion point in a column adjacent to the location where you want the new column to appear.
  2. Right-click the mouse. A menu will appear.
  3. Select Insert Insert Columns to the Left or Insert Columns to the Right. A new column appears.
To delete a row or column:
  1. Select the row or column.
  2. Right-click your mouse. A menu will appear.
  3. Select Delete Cells.
  4. Select Delete entire row or Delete entire column, then click OK.
To apply a table style:
  1. Click anywhere on the table. The Design tab will appear on the Ribbon.
  2. Select the Design tab and locate the Table Styles.
  3. Click the More drop-down arrow to see all of the table styles.
  4. Hover the mouse over the various styles to see a live preview.
  5. Select the desired style. The table style will appear in the document. 

How to Insert Charts in Word 2010
When you insert a chart into a document created in Microsoft Word 2010, a sample chart is embedded in the document. The data used to plot the sample chart is stored in an Excel worksheet that is associated with the Word file. You have full access to the same powerful charting features as you do in Excel and PowerPoint. There is no need to create a chart in Excel and then import it to Word, because the capabilities are the same.
1.    On the Insert tab, click Chart. The Insert Chart dialog box opens.
2.    In the left pane, click the desired chart type.
3.  Click OK. Microsoft Excel opens, displaying a sheet containing dummy data for the chart. (Word remains open in its own window, and the two windows are arranged side by side.)
    4.    Change the data in Excel as needed. Edit both the numbers and the labels. You can insert or          delete rows and columns as needed; the chart automatically reflects them.
5.    Switch to the Word window to view the chart.

Step in importing graph from MS Excel to MS Word.
1         1.  In Excel, select the embedded chart or chart sheet that you want to copy to a Word 
               document
           2. Select the Home tab then from the Clipboard group click the Copy button
           3. In the Word document, click where you want to paste the copied chart.
           4. Select the Home tab then from the Clipboard group click Paste

             

No comments:

Post a Comment