Sunday, August 7, 2016

MS Word (Comment, Preview and Printing)

Adding and deleting comments

Sometimes instead of changing something, you may want to make a comment about part of the document. Comments show up in balloons in the right margin and can be read by the original author or by any other reviewers.

To add a comment:

  1. Highlight some text, or place the insertion point where you want the comment to appear.
  2. From the Review tab, click the New Comment command.
  3. Type your comment.

To delete a comment:

  1. Select the balloon containing the comment you want to delete.
  2. From the Review tab, click the Delete command.

To delete all comments:

  1. From the Review tab, click the Delete drop-down arrow.
  2. Click Delete All Comments in Document.

Printing a document

In previous versions of Word, there was a Print Preview option that allowed you to see exactly what the document looked like before printing it. You may have noticed that this feature seems to be gone in Word 2010. It actually hasn't disappeared; it's just been combined with the Print window to create the Print pane, which is located in Backstage view.

To view the Print pane:

  1. Click the File tab to go to Backstage view.
  2. Select Print. The Print pane appears, with the print settings on the left and the Preview on the right.

To print:

  1. Go to the Print pane.
  2. If you only want to print certain pages, you can type a range of pages. Otherwise, select Print All Pages.
  3. Select the number of copies.
  4. Check the Collate box if you are printing multiple copies of a multi-page document.
  5. Select a printer from the drop-down list.
  6. Click the Print button.

Quick Print

There may be times when you want to print something with a single click using Quick Print. This feature prints the document using the default settings and the default printer. To use this feature in Word 2010, you'll need to add it to the Quick Access toolbar.
Quick Print always prints the entire document, so if you only want to print part of your document you'll have to use the Print pane.

To access the Quick Print button:

  1. Click the drop-down arrow on the right side of the Quick Access toolbar.
  2. Select Quick Print if it is not already checked.
  3. To print, click the Quick Print command. 

MS Word (Table and Chart)

A table is a grid of cells arranged in rows and columns. Tables can be customized and are useful for various tasks such as presenting text information and numerical data.

Steps in Creating/ Inserting Tables
In MS Word, tables are useful for organizing and presenting data. You can create a blank table, convert text to a table, and apply a variety of styles and formats to existing tables.

To insert a blank table:
  1. Place your insertion point in the document where you want the table to appear.
  2. Select the Insert tab.
  3. Click the Table command.
  4. Hover your mouse over the diagram squares to select the number of columns and rows in the table.
  5. Click your mouse, and the table appears in the document.
  6. You can now place the insertion point anywhere in the table to add text.
To convert existing text to a table:
  1. Select the text you want to convert.
  2. Select the Insert tab.
  3. Click the Table command.
  4. Select Convert Text to Table from the menu. A dialog box will appear.
  5. Choose one of the options in the Separate text at: section. This is how Word knows what text to put in each column.
  6. Click OK. The text appears in a table. 
To add a row above an existing row:
  1. Place the insertion point in a row below the location where you want to add a row.
  2. Right-click the mouse. A menu appears.
  3. Select Insert Insert Rows Above.
  4. A new row appears above the insertion point.

   You can also add rows below the insertion point. Follow the same steps, but select Insert Rows Below from the menu.

To add a column:
  1. Place the insertion point in a column adjacent to the location where you want the new column to appear.
  2. Right-click the mouse. A menu will appear.
  3. Select Insert Insert Columns to the Left or Insert Columns to the Right. A new column appears.
To delete a row or column:
  1. Select the row or column.
  2. Right-click your mouse. A menu will appear.
  3. Select Delete Cells.
  4. Select Delete entire row or Delete entire column, then click OK.
To apply a table style:
  1. Click anywhere on the table. The Design tab will appear on the Ribbon.
  2. Select the Design tab and locate the Table Styles.
  3. Click the More drop-down arrow to see all of the table styles.
  4. Hover the mouse over the various styles to see a live preview.
  5. Select the desired style. The table style will appear in the document. 

How to Insert Charts in Word 2010
When you insert a chart into a document created in Microsoft Word 2010, a sample chart is embedded in the document. The data used to plot the sample chart is stored in an Excel worksheet that is associated with the Word file. You have full access to the same powerful charting features as you do in Excel and PowerPoint. There is no need to create a chart in Excel and then import it to Word, because the capabilities are the same.
1.    On the Insert tab, click Chart. The Insert Chart dialog box opens.
2.    In the left pane, click the desired chart type.
3.  Click OK. Microsoft Excel opens, displaying a sheet containing dummy data for the chart. (Word remains open in its own window, and the two windows are arranged side by side.)
    4.    Change the data in Excel as needed. Edit both the numbers and the labels. You can insert or          delete rows and columns as needed; the chart automatically reflects them.
5.    Switch to the Word window to view the chart.

Step in importing graph from MS Excel to MS Word.
1         1.  In Excel, select the embedded chart or chart sheet that you want to copy to a Word 
               document
           2. Select the Home tab then from the Clipboard group click the Copy button
           3. In the Word document, click where you want to paste the copied chart.
           4. Select the Home tab then from the Clipboard group click Paste

             

MS Word (Illustration Group/Ribbon)

Microsoft Word 2010 is a word processing program, designed to help you create professional quality documents. With the finest document-formatting tools, Word helps you organize and write your documents more efficiently. Word also includes powerful editing and revising tools so that you can collaborate with others easily.

To insert a shape:
  1. Select the Insert tab.
  2. Click the Shapes command.
  3. Select a shape from the drop-down menu.
  4. Click and drag the mouse until the shape is the desired size.
  5. Release the mouse button.

To insert clip art:

  1. Place your insertion point in the document where you want to insert the clip art.
  2. Select Insert tab
  3. Click the Clip Art command in the Illustration group. The Insert Clip art dialog box appears.
  4. Type your desired clip art in the Search for box.
  5. Click an image in the Clip Art pane. It will appear in the document. 

To insert a picture from a file:

  1. Place your insertion point where you want the image to appear.
  2. Select the Insert tab.
  3. Click the Picture command in the Illustrations group. The Insert Picture dialog box appears.
  4. Select the desired image file, then click Insert to add it to your document. 
To insert a SmartArt illustration:
  1. Place the insertion point in the document where you want the graphic to appear.
  2. Select the Insert tab.
  3. Select the SmartArt command in the Illustrations group. A dialog box appears.
  4. Select a category to the left of the dialog box, and review the SmartArt graphics that appear in the center.
  5. Select the desired SmartArt graphic, then click OK. 
3D effects

There are two types of effects you can apply to your shapes to give them a 3D appearance: 3-D Rotation and Bevel. 3-D Rotation gives the appearance that you are viewing the object from a different angle, and it can be applied to any shape. Bevel adds thickness and a rounded edge to shapes, but it doesn't work with every type of shape.


Screenshots in Word 2010

One of the new features in Word 2010 is the ability to take screenshots and paste them directly into your documents. It should allow quicker document creation, and today we will show you how easy it is to use.

To take a screenshot select the Insert tab on the ribbon, and in the Illustrations section click on Screenshot. You’ll be presented with Available Windows, which are the active ones on your desktop. Or you can get your own shot by clicking Screen Clipping. If you want to get a specific spot in your screen, select Screen Clipping.