Monday, December 12, 2016

MS PowerPoint Hyperlink


Inserting hyperlinks


Adding hyperlinks to your presentation can help readers quickly access contact information or information from the Internet. Additionally, hyperlinks in the form of action buttons are useful for navigating your slide show. To use hyperlinks, you'll need to know how to insert hyperlinks using text and objects, as well as how to insert action buttons.

Hyperlinks have two basic parts: the address of the webpage, email address, or other location they are linking to; and the display text, which can also be a picture or shape. For example, the address could be http://www.youtube.com and the display text could be YouTube. In some cases, the display text might be the same as the address. When you're creating a hyperlink in PowerPoint, you'll be able to choose both the address and the display text or image.

  To insert a hyperlink:

Select the image or text you want to make a hyperlink.
  1. Right-click the selected text or image, then click Hyperlink.
  2. The Insert Hyperlink dialog box will open. You can also get to this dialog box from the Insert tab by clicking Hyperlink.
  3. If you selected text, the words will appear in the Text to display field at the top. You can change this text if you want.
  4. Type the address you want to link to in the Address field.
  5. Click OK. The text or image you selected will now be a hyperlink to the web address.

To insert a hyperlink to an email address:

  1. Right-click the selected text or image, then click Hyperlink.
  2. The Insert Hyperlink dialog box will open.
  3. On the left side of the dialog box, click Email Address.
  4. Type the email address you want to connect to in the Email Address box, then click OK.
PowerPoint often recognizes email and web addresses as you type and will format them as hyperlinks automatically after you press the Enter key or the spacebar.

To open and test a hyperlink

1.    After you create a hyperlink, it's important to test it. Right-click the hyperlink, then click Open Hyperlink.

2.    Your web browser should open and navigate to the linked page. If it does not work, check the hyperlink address for any misspellings.

To remove a hyperlink:

 
  1. Right-click the hyperlink.
  2. Click Remove Hyperlink.     
To insert a hyperlink to another slide:
 
  1. Right-click the selected text or image, then click Hyperlink.
  2. The Insert Hyperlink dialog box will open.
  3. On the left side of the dialog box, click Place in this Document.
  4. A list of the other slides in your presentation will appear. Click the name of the slide you want to link to.
  5. Click OK. The text or image will now be a hyperlink to the slide you selected.
To insert a hyperlink to another file:
 
  1. Right-click the selected text or image, then click Hyperlink.
  2. The Insert Hyperlink dialog box will open.
  3. On the left side of the dialog box, click Existing File or Web Page.
  4. Click the drop-down arrow to browse for your file.
  5. Select the desired file. 
  6. Click OK. The text or image will now be a hyperlink to the file you selected.

MS PowerPoint Transition


Setting Timing and Transition in a Slide Presentation

A transition can be as simple as fading to the next slide or as complex as a flashy, eye-catching effect. This means you can choose transitions to fit the style of any presentation.

There are three categories of unique transitions to choose from, all of which can be found on the Transitions tab:

  • Subtle (slight transitions)
  • Exciting (strong transitions)     


  • Dynamic Content (strong transitions that affect only the content, such as text or images)


To apply a transition:


  1. Select the slide you want to modify.
  2. Click the Transitions tab.
  3. Locate the Transition to This Slide group. By default, None is applied to each slide.
  4. Click the More drop-down arrow to display all of the transitions.
  5. Click a transition to apply it to the selected slide. This will automatically preview the transition as well.


 When working with transitions, the Apply To All command in the Timing group can be used at any time to make your presentation uniform. Use this command with caution. Not only does it apply the same transition to every slide, but it also applies the settings in the Timing group, which you may not want to be the same throughout your presentation.

To preview a transition:


You can preview the transition for a selected slide at any time, using either of these two methods:

  • Click the Preview command on the Transitions tab.
  • Click the star Play Animations icon. The icon appears on the Slides tab in the left pane beside any slide that includes a transition.

To modify the duration:


  1. Select the slide that includes the transition you want to modify.
  2. In the Duration field in the Timing group, enter the amount of time you want the transition to take. In this example, we will specify the length as 2 seconds, or 02.00.

  To add sound:


  1. Select the slide that includes the transition you want to modify.
  2. Click the Sound drop-down menu in the Timing group.
  3. You will hear the sound and see a live preview of the transition as you hover over each sound.
  4. Click a sound to apply it to the selected slide.

To remove a transition:


  1. Select the slide you want to modify.
  2. Choose None from the gallery in the Transition to This Slide group.
  3. Repeat this process for each slide you want to modify.


 To remove transitions from all slides, select a slide that uses None, then click the Apply to All command.

To advance slides automatically:


In Slide Show view, you would typically advance to the next slide by clicking your mouse or pressing Enter on your keyboard. Using the Advance Slides settings in the Timing group, you can set your presentation to advance on its own instead and display each slide for a specific amount of time. This is useful for unattended presentations, such as at a tradeshow booth.

  1. Select the slide you want to modify.
  2. Locate the Timing group on the Transitions tab.
  3. Under Advance Slide, uncheck the box next to On Mouse Click.
  4. In the After field, enter the amount of time you want to display the slide. In this example, we'll advance the slide automatically after 1 minute 30 seconds, or 01:30:00.
  5. Select another slide, and repeat the process until all the desired slides have the appropriate timing.



MS PowerPoint Audio


PowerPoint allows you insert audio files from your computer, or you can search the Clip Art Studio to find the audio you need. Once you've inserted audio, you can then edit it.


To insert audio from a file on your computer:


  1. From the Insert tab, click the Audio drop-down arrow and select Audio from File.
  2. Locate and select the desired audio file, then click Insert.
  3. The audio file will be added to the slide.


  To insert clip art audio:

  1. From the Insert tab, click the Audio drop-down arrow and select Clip Art Audio. The Clip Art pane will appear on the right.
  2. Enter keywords in the Search for: field, then click Go.
  3. The results will appear in the Clip Art pane. To preview an audio file, right-click the file and select Preview/Properties.
  4. A dialog box will appear, and the audio file will start playing automatically (it may take a few seconds to load). To play it again, press the Play button.
  5. When you're finished previewing the file, click Close.
  6. Once you have found the audio file you want to use, click it to insert it into the slide.
Recording your own audio

Sometimes you may want to record audio directly into a presentation, like if you want the presentation to include narration. Before you begin, make sure you have a microphone that's compatible with your computer; many computers have built-in microphones or ones that can be plugged in to the computer.

To record audio:


1.   From the Insert tab, click the Audio drop-down arrow and select Record Audio.


  1. Type a name for the audio recording if you want.
  2. Click the red Record button to start recording.
  3. When you're finished recording, click the Stop button.
  4. To preview your recording, click the Play button.
  5. When you're done, click OK. The audio file will be inserted into the slide.

Working with audio


Just like with videos, you can modify your audio files using the various features of the Playback tab. For example, if you add a song to a slide, you can trim it so it will only play one section of the song, and you can add a fade in and fade out to smooth out the beginning and end. You can also add bookmarks that allow you to jump to specific points in the audio file.

To trim the audio:


  1. From the Playback tab, click the Trim Audio command. The Trim Audio dialog box will appear.
  2. Use the green and red handles to set the start time and end time.
  3. To preview the audio file, click the Play button.
  4. Adjust the green and red handles again if necessary, then click OK.
To add a fade in and fade out:

  1. On the Playback tab, locate the Fade In and Fade Out fields.
  2. Type in the desired values, or use the up and down arrows to adjust the times.

Audio options

There are other options you can set to control how your audio file plays. These are found in the Audio Options group on the Playback tab.
  • Volume: This changes the audio volume.
  • Start: This controls whether the audio file starts automatically or when the mouse is clicked.
  • Hide During Show: This hides the audio icon while the slide show is playing.
  • Loop Until Stopped: This causes the audio file to repeat until it is stopped.
  • Rewind After Playing: This causes the audio file to return to the beginning when it's finished playing.

MS PowerPoint Animation




PowerPoint offers a variety of animations you can use to enhance your presentation. Animations can be used to make text or objects appear on a slide, exit a slide, or emphasize the text or objects already on a slide. You can even use motion paths to create a customized animation.

The four types of animations

There are many different animation effects you can choose from, and they are organized into four types:

  • Entrance: These control how the object enters the slide. For example, with the Bounce animation, the object will drop onto the slide and then bounce several times.


  • Emphasis: These animations occur while the object is on the slide and are often triggered by a mouse click. For example, you can set an object to Spin when you click the mouse.


  • Exit: These control how the object exits the slide. For example, with the Fade animation, the object will simply fade away.


  • Motion Paths: These are similar to Emphasis effects, except the object moves within the slide along a predetermined path, like a circle.

To apply an animation to an object:

  1. Select an object.
  2. Click the Animations tab.
  3. In the Animation group, click the More drop-down arrow to view the available animations.
  4. Select the desired animation effect.
  5. The object will now have a small number next to it to show that it has an animation. Also, in the Slide pane, the slide will now have a star symbol next to it. At the bottom of the menu, you can access even more effects.

Effect options

Some effects will have options you can change. For example, with the Fly In effect, you can control which direction the object comes from. These options can be accessed from the Effect Options command in the Animation group.

To add multiple animations to an object:

If you select a new animation from the menu in the Animation group, it will replace the object's current animation. However, you'll sometimes want to place more than one animation on an object, such as with an entrance and exit effect. To do this, you'll need to use the Add Animation command, which will allow you to keep your current animations while adding new ones.
  1. Select the object.
  2. Click the Animations tab.
  3. In the Advanced Animation group, click the Add Animation command to view the available animations.
  4. Select the desired animation effect.
  5. If the object has more than one effect, it will have a different number for each effect. The numbers indicate the order in which the effects will occur.  
It's important to consider how you want animations to appear in your slide show. Well-placed animations can help emphasize important points or information, while too many animations can become distracting for your audience.

To reorder the animations:

  1. Select the number of the effect you want to change.
  2. From the Animations tab, click the Move Earlier or Move Later commands to change the ordering.

To preview animations:

Any animation effects you have applied will show up when you play the slide show. However, you can also quickly preview the animations for the current slide without viewing the slide show.
  1. Navigate to the slide you want to preview.
  2. From the Animations tab, click the Preview command. The animations for the current slide will play.
The Animation pane allows you to view and manage all of the effects that are on the current slide. You can modify and reorder effects directly from the Animation pane, which is especially useful when you have several effects.

To open the Animation pane:

  1. From the Animations tab, click the Animation Pane command.
  2. The Animation pane will open on the right side of the window. It will show all of the effects for the current slide in the order they will appear.

To reorder effects from the Animation pane:

  1. On the Animation pane, click and drag an effect up or down.
  2. The effects will reorder.



   


 

Monday, October 10, 2016


Steps in creating a new blank presentation:


  1. Click the File tab. This takes you to Backstage view.
  2. Select New.
  3. Select Blank presentation under Available Templates and Themes. It will be highlighted by default.
  4. Click Create. A new blank presentation appears in the PowerPoint window.

Steps in Saving a Slide Presentation

1.    Click the File tab.

2.    Select Save/ Save As.

3.    Select the location where you want to save the presentation.

4.    Type the filename.

5.     Click Save.


If you're using Windows 7, you'll usually want to save things to your Documents library, and in other versions of Windows you'll save them to the My Documents folder.


To use the Save command:

1.    Click the Save command on the Quick Access toolbar.

2.    The presentation will be saved in its current location with the same file name.

 


 

MS PowerPoint 2010 Screen


File tab

Displays a list of commands related to things you can do with a presentation, such as opening, saving, printing, or sharing.
Quick Access Toolbar (QAT)

Displays buttons to perform frequently used commands with a single click.
Title bar

Displays the name of the presentation and the name of the program.
Slide pane

Displays a large image of the active slide in PowerPoint. 
View buttons

A set of commands that control the look of the presentation window.
Notes pane

Displays below the Slide pane and allows you to type notes regarding the active side.
Status bar

A horizontal bar at the bottom of the presentation window that displays the current slide number, number of slides in a presentation, Theme Name, View buttons, and Zoom slider.
Slides/Outline pane

Displays either all of the slides in the presentation in the form of
miniature images called thumbnails (Slides tab) or the presentation
outline (Outline tab).
Ribbon
Organizes commands on tabs, and then groups the commands by topic
for performing related presentation tasks.

MS PowerPoint 2010 (Loading and Exiting)


PowerPoint 2010 is a visual and graphical application, primarily used for creating presentations. With PowerPoint, you can create, view, and present slide shows that combine text, shapes, pictures, graphs, animation, charts, videos, and much more.



Loading and Exiting MS PowerPoint

Steps in loading MS PowerPoint program (any of these)

I.        From the Start button

A.     

1.    Click the Start button

2.    Click the All programs

3.    Click MS Office

4.    Click MS PowerPoint 2010

B.     

1.    Click the Start button

2.    Type the word “powerpoint” in the search box

3.    Press Enter



II.      From the desktop (any of these)

A.      Double click the short cut icon of MS PowerPoint program

B.      Right click the short cut icon of MS PowerPoint program then click open

C.      Click the short cut icon of MS PowerPoint program then press Enter.

Steps in Exiting MS PowerPoint program (any of these)

A.     

1.    Save your work. (optional)

2.    Click the close button

B.     

1.    Save your work. (optional)

2.    Click the File button

3.    Click exit.

C.     

1.            Save your work (optional)

2.            Press Alt + F4.